Apple vs. My Tech Life

I recently tweeted after the September 2015 event that Apple had finally released it’s hold on me. Many mistook this to mean that I was abandoning Apple or switching to Android (as if that would help anything other than my pockets slightly). Instead, I think it’s time for me (and maybe you) to do a personal inventory of the technology you have, how it fits in your life, and how to move forward. Mindfulness is not a particularly valued trait in today’s society, but nonetheless it’s important.

Of course this applies to the large hardware purchases we make (Upgrade to the 6S, or keep my 5S?), but I think it should also apply to the software we use. Part of this inventory should involve workflows, app audits, and process improvements. Sound scary? It shouldn’t be. Here’s an example:

With iOS 9, Apple has offered alternatives to my workflows in a couple of ways. One important, possibly defining way is through the new, redesigned Notes app. This challenges my current use of the now abandoned Vesper, as well as Ita, which I currently use for grocery lists and the like.

The News App is Apple’s alternative to RSS, which seemingly not many people use. I use (and love) Reeder as my RSS app of choice. It’s minimalist color scheme and readability as well as offering a night-mode makes it the best option. With News, Apple offers to redefine the space between Reeder and Nuzzle, which offers articles based on what your friends and Twitter followers are sharing. The idea of externally-curated news isn’t particularly appealing to me, but I think I’m just crotchety.

These are the main tools that I use for productivity, as well as some other daily-use apps, such as Dollarbird, which I use to track expenses. With iOS 9, Apple has offered to change my workflows, and despite their recent track record, I owe it to them to take a development detour and try them out. You should do the same.

 
9
Kudos
 
9
Kudos

Now read this

Exporting Craft Beer Culture to Asia

In Asia, craft beer has been experiencing what most people would consider a great success. The barriers to entry for new countries, those in which beer isn’t the traditional alcoholic beverage of choice, to get involved with craft beer... Continue →